REVIEW: Archers and Arrows: Archers and Arrows

Leave a comment

Archers and Arrows are a punk band from Lausanne, Switzerland. They’ve got a pretty unique sound; it’s kind of a Latterman/Get Up Kids/hardcore/emo sound. I know that might not sound appealing at first but these guys take it and totally own the sound. They make it work better than I would ever think possible. Here is their self titled EP; it’s got five songs, so that should be enough to get you acclimated to the band. The first song ‘It’s So Cool, We Will Die All Together’ is simply off the charts good, it’s a perfect example of how this blend of styles can make great music. The second track ‘The Support’ is pretty good, its starts out great, but it has a bit too much of the hardcore vocals for my taste. Then they’ve got ‘Swan Song’ this really shows the Get Up Kids part of the band’s sound, it’s almost the best song on here, if it wasn’t for the opening track. The fourth song ‘Truncated Humanism’ totally kicks this into a different gear, it’s a lot faster. It sounds more like a straight up punk song or a hardcore song than the others except they don’t use the rough vocals, which I think totally makes this song work and I’m glad they didn’t go that way. It’s a total kickback to the 90’s with this song. The last song on here ‘The Young Carpetbaggers’ is another hardcore/punk song but not as good as the previous. This may be the weakest song on this thing but it’s still pretty good. This band blends so much together I can’t even say “if you’re into blah blah blah” check these guys out because they’re not really nailed down to anything. I’m just going to leave it at go listen to Archers and Arrows.

1. It’s So Cool, We Will Die All Together
2. The Support
3. Swan Song
4. Truncated Humanism
5. The Young Carpetbaggers

Get Archers and Arrows from Amazon HERE

REVIEW: James Haitchwai: James Haitchwai Is Dead

Leave a comment

DC based singer-songwriter James Haitchwai is here with a six song EP. This is pretty good stuff, I’m a fan of the acoustic music and this is a strong showing of that. Each of these songs is written very well and stands out on their own but it also flows together very well as an EP. Anyone that’s a fan of some acoustic music should check James Haitchwai’s EP out; it’s a pretty damn good one.

1. Wheel
2. Letter In Red
3. Mr. Funk the World
4. Mudge
5. Sun
6. Salvation

Get James Haitchwai Is Dead from Amazon HERE


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

%d bloggers like this: