Green Day is back with yet another album; I heard this was going to be a three album type of deal so I guess this is the first of them. It’s been a while since they’ve put out a good one but I like many other people around my age just can’t let a Green Day album go by without at least checking it out in hopes that they’ll recapture that greatness that they once had. This album definitely that long lost great Green Day album that we’ve been hoping for but it’s about the closest that they’ve come in twelve years. This album could actually make a half way decent EP, and if I could pick and choose through the last three albums I think I might be able to scrape together one decent album. Green Day still hasn’t completely lost it as you can see from this album but it’s still not an album I can see anyone listening to for more than maybe two spins. Though the entire thing isn’t even close to as awful as the album cover is.

‘Nuclear Family’ Not awful but pretty far from great. Musically it’s pretty generic but my biggest problem is with the vocals here, they’re just weird. Still I don’t totally hate it.
‘Stay The Night’ This doesn’t really sound much like a Green Day song…but I like it a lot. It’s about as far away from the ‘punk’ Green Day as you can get but at this point who cares, a good song is a good song.
‘Carpe Diem’ Again not what I would call a Green Day type song but I really enjoyed this. Back to back songs that are kind of slow but really good.
‘Let Yourself Go’ This one is back to the speed we’d expect to hear Green Day at. At first I really liked it than the chorus kicked in and I didn’t care for it as much and as it goes on it just gets annoying. Though in the current landscape of the band I guess it isn’t so bad.
‘Kill The DJ’ Jesus Christ this song is just fucking awful. It’s like some of the worst Eagles songs meets lame 90’s club music. There are many other songs that share the same name that are way better; I recommend you listen to them instead.
‘Fell For You’ The intro (or first six seconds) on this reminds me a little of a Mr. T Experience song, but that’s about as far as it goes. On the plus side this does sound kind of like an older Green Day song, not too bad at all.
‘Loss Of Control’ Kinda sounds like an old Green Day song again, though this one would be one that’s not very good.
‘Troublemaker’ Jesus another annoying song, I wish someone had locked them out of the studio the day they recorded this.
‘Angel Blue’ This seems stuck somewhere in-between the old Green Day sound and the new Green Day sound, but somehow coming out on top of it with a pretty decent song, though it does go on a little too long.
‘Sweet 16′ Is a winey little bitch of a Green Day song.
‘Rusty James’ This one isn’t so bad, but it’s not so good either. It’s just pretty generic and boring. If I wasn’t actively paying attention I’d totally forget the song was on…even then I still zoned out a few times in this way too long four minute pile.
‘Oh Love’ Again the last song here has the same problem as the first, it’s a snooze fest and way too long of one, they should have cut the last couple songs for sure.

1. Nuclear Family
2. Stay The Night
3. Carpe Diem
4. Let Yourself Go
5. Kill The DJ
6. Fell For You
7. Loss Of Control
8. Troublemaker
9. Angel Blue
10. Sweet 16
11. Rusty James
12. Oh Love

Get Uno from Amazon HERE

About these ads