REVIEW: G-DO & Xception: The Otherside

Leave a comment

CoverG-DO & Xception are back to drop their fourth album, this time it’s on Goal! Records. I’m glad this album came along; I was starting to think that R.A. The Rugged Man was going to have the only great hip-hop album of the year, luckily he’s got company. ‘The Otherside’ is slightly different from their previous releases but you still know what you’re getting, great beats with some great songs over them. These guys have an impressive track, every album so far has been great and ‘The Otherside’ is no exception. I can’t remember the last time a hip-hop group or rapper has had this type of consistency. Right from the first track ‘On We Go’ you know that this is going to be a good one, that quality continues through the entire album. People that dig good hip-hop if you don’t already know G-DO & Xception ‘The Otherside’ is an album you need to check out.

1. On We Go
2. Grease
3. Fried Platanos
4. Carpe Diem
5. Serendipity
6. Waiting for a King
7. We Do It
8. Where
9. Spraying the Canvas
10. The Hereafter

Get it from G-DO & Xception HERE

REVIEW: G-DO & Xception: Sankofa

Leave a comment

1173443412-1G-DO & Xception are back with their third album called ‘Sankofa’ and it’s fucking awesome. What you’ve got here is a fourteen track masterpiece. These songs flow so smooth you can lose yourself in the album before you even know it. Everything is on point here, the beats, the lyrics, fucking everything! G-DO & Xception is one of the best things going in hip-hop right now and they continue proving it, ‘Sankofa’ is just the latest fact to back that up. Anyone that likes great hip-hop needs to get into this right now.

1. Life (feat. Shishani)
2. Yesternowrow
3. Trailblazin
4. Amusing (feat. Eric Ian Farmer)
5. Sankofa
6. Solstice
7. Believers
8. Dirty Money
9. What’s Going On?
10. We Alive
11. Perspective
12. Rise
13. Fin (feat. Shishani)
14. What’s Going On? (Original Version)

Get it from G-DO & Xception HERE

Get Sankofa from Amazon HERE

REVIEW: G-DO & Xception: A Tribute to Fela Kuti- Felatastic

Leave a comment

G-Do & Xception are back; this time with an album that’s a tribute to Fela Kuti. The last album was great so they had a lot to live up to here. As you may have guessed from the title the album is a tribute to Fela Anikulapo Kuti, this originally started out as just a one song tribute to Fela Kuti but it quickly snowballed into ten songs, and I for one am very glad it did. This album is great no matter what side you look at it from. The beats are incredibly unique but have enough of a throwback to keep them fun and the lyrics and rapping on here is up to a level of the likes of some of the guys in Hieroglyphics. These guys are so damn talented they have seemingly no limits, they chose to focus their talents into this tribute album and I don’t see how it could have turned out better by anyone on the planet. Fans of hip-hop (especially the quality underground variety) get on this, you will not be disappointed!

1. Outline
3. The Revolutionist
4. Out of the Shade
5. Goal
6. Extra Strength
8. We Love Music
9. Confusion Everywhere
10. FELA

Get it from G-DO & Xception HERE

REVIEW: G-DO & Xception: Chicago to Amsterdam

Leave a comment

Chicago rapper Xception and Amsterdam producer G-DO are back with a new EP, one that’s about the places, events, and people. As you can guess the title comes from the places that G-DO & Xception do. The EP came out on Goal! Records in August and is available for free download. If you don’t know about G-DO & Xception, they’re a team that’s putting out some of the best new hip-hop that I’ve heard in years. This EP is a great place to start if you haven’t heard their debut album. And if you have heard the album, I imaging you’ve wanted more G-DO & Xception. The EP features songs as homage to both Chicago and Amsterdam (‘Chicagoing’ and ‘The Damn’). Both are great songs, ‘Chicagoing’ is a perfect choice to start out the EP, I love everything about the song, it might be the best on the album. And ‘The Damn’ is a great bookend to close things out, it picks things up after things start to wind down and leaves you wanting more G-DO & Xception, and as soon as possible. ‘I Still Love H.E.R.’ features the newest member of Goal Music Group, Shishani. The flow on this song is so smooth; this is the type of song you can never skip. ‘Family Matters’ is a great middle song to hold the whole thing together; this is a damn quality song that ranks up there with some of the best songs about family. ‘Timeless’ has Muliplist making an appearance, he showed up on a couple of tracks on the ‘Mood of the Music’ album. I’m glad to have him back because there’s talent that works just right with G-DO & Xception. As you might expect there’s not a bad song on this EP, any fan of hip-hop simply needs to hear this, no excuse not to.

1. Chicagoing
2. I Still Love H.E.R.
3. Family Matters
4. Timeless
5. The Damn

Get it from G-DO & Xception HERE

REVIEW: Mr. T: Mr. T’s Commandments

Leave a comment

Way back in 1984 Mr. T was on top of the world, so what better time to release a rap EP? Seemed perfect, and well, it was. Columbia put this out and I’m glad this exists because it’s pretty damn great. The songs really have a good message for kids, staying off drugs, not getting kidnapped, things like that…but you’ve got Mr. T raping so most people are going to over look this and enjoy it on a whole different level. On the other side of things there may be some surprising names most notably Ice-T, yeah the same one.

‘Mr. T’s Commandment’ The funky intro song complete with record scratches, you know you’re in for a great album once this hits.This is basically the song that lays the groundwork for the rest of the album, it basically says “listen to Mr. T and the Bible”.
‘Don’t Talk To Strangers’ With the title you can guess what this is about,what you couldn’t guess is what a sensual soul/R&B song this sounds like. It’s pretty….odd.
‘The Toughest Man in the World’ Back to the rap game, with some sax and funk added in for flavor. This one basically says ‘you’re strong if you make the right choices in life’.
‘Mr. T, Mr. T (He Was Made for Love)’ Basically a parody version of the Bobbettes’ ‘Mr. Lee’.
‘The One and Only Mr. T’ I can practly picture Mr. T and Hulk Hogan dancing in the background as this song plays. It’s pretty much about how great Mr. T is.
‘No Dope No Drugs’ This actually sounds like a recycled song from the Hulk Hogan album, or I guess it would really have to be the other way around. Again you can guess what it’s about from the title, no tricks here.
‘You Got to Go Through It’ Mr. T does disco, you know, ten years too late. Really a throw away song about how ‘you gotta do it’. I hope this was a last minute add on.

  1. Mr. T’s Commandment
  2. Don’t Talk To Strangers
  3. The Toughest Man in the World
  4. Mr. T, Mr. T (He Was Made for Love)
  5. The One and Only Mr. T
  6. No Dope No Drugs
  7. You Got to Go Through It

Get Mr. T’s Commandments from Amazon HERE

Older Entries


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

%d bloggers like this: