REVIEW: Beach Slang: Who Would Ever Want Anything So Broken?

Leave a comment

Beach SlangEvery few years there seems to be the new band that everybody loses their minds over. This year there seems to be two bands doing that, Earth Girls and Beach Slang. Both great bands and seem to have the stuff to be around. But this is clearly about Beach Slang so let’s talk about them. If you like Mega City Four, Jawbreaker or Superchunk you should be listening to Beach Slang. It’s as simple as that. They’ve got all the great power pop/punk/rock mix that makes those bands great and they do it just as well themselves. Beach Slang isn’t some carbon copy Xerox band though; they’ve got their own thing going. In a time where everybody posts what they’re jamming to on Facebook it’s pretty evident that Beach Slang is a hit, either that or I just hang out with people that have impeccable taste because just about everyone seems to be rocking this band. When you hear one or two people talking up a band you might check it out but Beach Slang seem to be growing a nice little following in a very short period of time and I’ll say that these people know what the fuck is up. This is one of the best EP’s I’ve heard this year and it still gets pretty constant rotation. It’s the kind of record where you get bummed that it’s only four songs, but then it’s cool because you realize you can just listen to it on repeat. Don’t sleep on this one or you’ll miss out on some great stuff.

1. Filthy Luck
2. Kids
3. Get Lost
4. Punk Or Lust

Get it from Dead Broke Rekords HERE

Get it from Drunken Sailor Records HERE

REVIEW: The Tone: Demo

Leave a comment

CoverThe Tone is a new band from Mike that use to be in The Eeries. Similar to the Eeries it’s got a heavy old rock vibe to it but there’s also a nice amount of power pop sound. This is their demo, it’s only five songs but that’s more than enough to get the band down, and it’s a band you don’t wanna miss out on. If you dig stuff like The Poppees and Paul Collins’ Beat then The Tone should be right up your alley. You can score the 7″, the digital version or the tape if you’re into that.

1. Long, Long Time
2. I’ve Got Your Troubles (You’ve Got Mine)
3. Don’t Wanna Go
4. Boss
5. Not Long Now Soon

Get it from The Tone HERE

Get it from Piss Drink Records HERE

Get it from Eye Vybe Records HERE

REVIEW: The Novice: s/t 7″

Leave a comment

NoviceThanks to Dirtnap Records we get The Novice self-titled 7″. It features Jeff Burke of Marked Men/Potential Johns so you already know it’s good. Sadly this little record only has two songs, but they’re both super catchy that’s somewhere between power pop and garage rock, they sort of remind me of some of the Potential Johns stuff but with more rock injected into them. After hearing these two songs I can’t stress how much I wish this was an album, or even an EP, just something to give me more of these songs. They’re so goddamn good. Go get this record right now before you can’t anymore.

1. What You Want
2. Your Crime

Get it from Dirtnap Records HERE

REVIEW: Teenage Moods: Grow

Leave a comment

TM-GROW25 Diamonds is releasing the second Teenage Moods LP ‘Grow’, and I’m glad they did. This album is fucking great. It’s a nice mix of garage rock and power pop. I haven’t heard a band quite like this in a very long time, there are bands that have elements of this but none that really put it together like these guys do. Every one of these songs rules and I just can’t stop listening to this album, it gets better every time I listen to it. Anybody that likes rock, garage or power pop should really check this album out; chances are there’s a lot in it for you.

1. Bright Looms
2. Rock Man
3. Golden Lasso
4. Electric Aloha
5. Glow
6. You Made Stars Shoot Out Of My Eyes
7. Black Noon
8. You
9. Tear Drops Will Fall
10. Baby Plastic Baggy
11. Snake Eyes
12. Making Notebooks Full
13. Young Wish

Get it from 25 Diamonds HERE

REVIEW: Pretty Pretty: Demo

Leave a comment

FolderEvery once in a while I’ll hear a demo that will catch me and I’ll just listen to it over and over, this is one of those demos. Pretty Pretty has an awesome mix of garage rock and power pop that I can’t pull away from. I don’t even know how many times I’ve listened to these six songs already; let’s just say it’s a lot. They remind me a lot of Full of Fancy but leaning more towards the rock side of things then they did. This is a demo that’s not to be missed; all of these songs are great, so much so that I can’t even pick a favorite out of them. This is just one big helping of great songs, dig in.

1. Too Kind
2. Basement Dark
3. High Anxiety
4. Counting Hours
5. Like Antiques
6. Heart Aches

Get it from Pretty Pretty HERE

REVIEW: The New Warden: Still Life

Leave a comment

CoverJohn Wilkes Booth Records brings us ‘Still Life’ from The New Warden. This album is good, I mean like really fucking good. New Warden has a style of pop punk that has just a bit of power pop slid in there and they’re very good at it. Every one of these songs on this album is a hit. Hell even as soon as ‘Jeanbreaker’ starts you know you’ve purchased a great album. I’ve listened to this thing a lot and it still holds up as staggeringly good after hearing it the fiftieth time as it did the first. Anyone that likes power pop and pop punk needs to check this album out as soon as you can.

1. Jeanbreaker
2. The “I’m Busy Helping Other People” Riff
3. Long Walk Home
4. One Life
5. (The Story of) The Story of the Hurricane
6. Still Life
7. The Best Little Heroin Spoon in American
8. Paper trails
9. Black hearts
10. Compass Rose
11. Berry/Bar Conundrum

Get it from John Wilkes Booth Records HERE

Get it from The New Warden HERE

REVIEW: Occult Detective Club: Alright Gentlemen

Leave a comment

ODCOccult Detective Club is here with their Alright Gentlemen 7″ on Dirt cult Records it’s four great Power Pop/Punk songs. The first two songs ‘Alright Gentlemen’ and ‘Sad Kids’ go from fast and catchy to even faster and catchier their two great gems that I’d be more than happy with if they were all that was on here alone but there’s more! ‘My New Heart’ doesn’t quite slow it down but gets a choppy rhythm in there for a pretty great sounding song. The final song ‘The President Says’ has a bit of a Buzzcocks sound to it, which is never a bad thing and is a great ending to the record. Personally I think the title song ‘Alright Gentlemen’ is the best song on here but it’s kind of a tough call since all of these songs are damn good. People that are into the power pop side of punk should check this stuff out right now.

1. Alright Gentlemen
2. Sad Kids
3. My New Heart
4. The President Says

Get it from Dirt Cult Records HERE

Get Alright Gentlemen from Amazon HERE

Older Entries


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

%d bloggers like this: