REVIEW: Beach Slang: Who Would Ever Want Anything So Broken?

Leave a comment

Beach SlangEvery few years there seems to be the new band that everybody loses their minds over. This year there seems to be two bands doing that, Earth Girls and Beach Slang. Both great bands and seem to have the stuff to be around. But this is clearly about Beach Slang so let’s talk about them. If you like Mega City Four, Jawbreaker or Superchunk you should be listening to Beach Slang. It’s as simple as that. They’ve got all the great power pop/punk/rock mix that makes those bands great and they do it just as well themselves. Beach Slang isn’t some carbon copy Xerox band though; they’ve got their own thing going. In a time where everybody posts what they’re jamming to on Facebook it’s pretty evident that Beach Slang is a hit, either that or I just hang out with people that have impeccable taste because just about everyone seems to be rocking this band. When you hear one or two people talking up a band you might check it out but Beach Slang seem to be growing a nice little following in a very short period of time and I’ll say that these people know what the fuck is up. This is one of the best EP’s I’ve heard this year and it still gets pretty constant rotation. It’s the kind of record where you get bummed that it’s only four songs, but then it’s cool because you realize you can just listen to it on repeat. Don’t sleep on this one or you’ll miss out on some great stuff.

1. Filthy Luck
2. Kids
3. Get Lost
4. Punk Or Lust

Get it from Dead Broke Rekords HERE

Get it from Drunken Sailor Records HERE

REVIEW: The Tone: Demo

Leave a comment

CoverThe Tone is a new band from Mike that use to be in The Eeries. Similar to the Eeries it’s got a heavy old rock vibe to it but there’s also a nice amount of power pop sound. This is their demo, it’s only five songs but that’s more than enough to get the band down, and it’s a band you don’t wanna miss out on. If you dig stuff like The Poppees and Paul Collins’ Beat then The Tone should be right up your alley. You can score the 7″, the digital version or the tape if you’re into that.

1. Long, Long Time
2. I’ve Got Your Troubles (You’ve Got Mine)
3. Don’t Wanna Go
4. Boss
5. Not Long Now Soon

Get it from The Tone HERE

Get it from Piss Drink Records HERE

Get it from Eye Vybe Records HERE

REVIEW: Run, Forever: Settling

Leave a comment

Run Forever SettlingPittsburgh’s Run, Forever have been putting out some really good stuff the past couple years and now they’re here with another album full of songs that you’ll enjoy. If you’ve heard Run, Forever before I’ll say you know what you’re getting into and this is way better than their previous album. If you’ve never heard the band they’re a band that combines rock and indie into a sound that’s pretty much their own. This album is some of the best stuff they’ve done yet.

1. Good Enough
2. Sun Bruised
3. Maritime States
4. Basement
5. Settling
6. Braddock Beach
7. Postcards
8. Close to the Sun
9. Drop Out
10. Forget

Get Settling from Amazon HERE

REVIEW: Flamingo 50: Tear It Up

Leave a comment

Flmingo 50Drunken Sailor Records is putting forth another great record, this time its Flamingo 50’s album ‘Tear It Up’. I hadn’t heard a ton of their stuff before listening to this, my only contact with them before with their split with The Measure [sa], which I did enjoy. This album is just on another planet though by comparison. Every song here is really good, there’s no real down point in the album. This is an album I think people that listen to the Gateway District and The Measure [sa] would be super into. I know I’m digging it. This is yet another album that should be on your radar this year.

1. Count To Three
2. Annie Hall
3. December Sun
4. Face The Wall
5. I’ll Show You What For
6. Last Time
7. Losing Out
8. Roll On Rolly Wheel
9. Velocity Exercise
10. Tongue Tied
11. Wrong Time Wrong Place
12. Mile After Mile

Get it from Drunken Sailor Records HERE

REVIEW: Louise Distras: Shades of Hate Unplugged EP

Leave a comment

CoverThis ‘Shades of Hate Unplugged’ EP from Louise Distras features acoustic versions of songs from her single ‘Stand Strong Together’ and ‘Shades Of Hate’ plus two never heard before songs ‘Bullets’ and ‘People Of The Abyss’ taken from her debut album ‘Dreams From The Factory Floor’. All four of these songs are great; though I think my favorite is ‘Shades of Hate’ it’s just a really great song that comes together perfectly. Though ‘Bullets’ is a close second, it’s really catchy without being poppy which is kind of a hard thing to pull off. There’s a lot of examples of acoustic punk bands, most of them fall into the folk punk thing but Louise Distras does it without going to the folk sound, this is truly acoustic punk and she’s really great at it. You can download the Shades of Hate Unplugged EP for free on her website, if you dig acoustic music and punk I highly recommend you check this out.

1. Stand Strong Together
2. Shades of Hate
3. Bullets
4. People Of The Abyss

Get it from Louise Distras HERE

REVIEW: The Shirks: S/T

Leave a comment

The Shirks STGrave Mistake Records drops an LP on us that I’ve been very excited to hear, The Shirks self-titled album! After some really great 7″s the band finally released a full length, something I wasn’t sure would ever even happen, it took five releases for it to happen. The Shirks are one of the best bands that few people talk about, which could be because they have very little online presence, but people that are in the know on this band are stoked. One of the best things coming out of DC right now is these guys and this record proves exactly why that is. Eight songs make up this album and they just get blazed through in around fifteen minutes. Basically what this is is the great rock punk combination that The Shirks have managed to master from their 7″ records and done better and more often. If you’re a fan of the band already then this record is something you should own as soon as possible, if you don’t know these guys yet then this is a perfect chance to reward yourself with hearing this band. I really didn’t think they’d ever be able to top their ‘Cry Cry Cry’ 7″ but I think they may have just achieved that with this album. This is definitely a ‘too hard to pick a favorite song’ type of album. They’re all great; they will all get listened to many times over.

1. Motherhood of the Wolf
2. Sex Gear
3. Dirty Teen Wolf
4. Bad Area
5. 9:30 Dicks
6. Nakitomi Liz
7. Don’t Tell Me
8. I Don’t Want to Work It

Get it from Grave Mistake Records HERE

Get The Shirks from Amazon HERE

REVIEW: Pretty Pretty: Demo

Leave a comment

FolderEvery once in a while I’ll hear a demo that will catch me and I’ll just listen to it over and over, this is one of those demos. Pretty Pretty has an awesome mix of garage rock and power pop that I can’t pull away from. I don’t even know how many times I’ve listened to these six songs already; let’s just say it’s a lot. They remind me a lot of Full of Fancy but leaning more towards the rock side of things then they did. This is a demo that’s not to be missed; all of these songs are great, so much so that I can’t even pick a favorite out of them. This is just one big helping of great songs, dig in.

1. Too Kind
2. Basement Dark
3. High Anxiety
4. Counting Hours
5. Like Antiques
6. Heart Aches

Get it from Pretty Pretty HERE

Older Entries


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

%d bloggers like this: